Picture

A Crisis At The Office, March 23, 2009

“What a great morning,” I said to myself as I walked out my front door. The birds were chirping, the sun was just turning on the heat, and I felt refreshed after a good morning shower. I made my usual way to work, listening to the same morning talk radio, going by, my usual everyday routine.

I walked into the office, like normal, set my things down at my office, said my traditional good morning’s to all those around me. Walked over the communal coffee maker which I had just seen used by a fellow co-worker, Sanchez, who walked right by me with a large steamy cup of Joe. He passed with a strange smirk on his face which I would later learn to be more devilish than strange.

I reached for the cabinet door in which I keep my commenrative baseball coffee cup, moved to the left a few feet, looked at the coffee machine and smiled. Mind you that this is not your normal coffee machine, with your standard pot and drip funnel. No this is a fancy one, where all you have to do is place your cup under a sensor and you magical juice will pour richly into your heart. I smiled knowing that inside this magical machine lay waiting patiently, a beautifully brewed hazelnut roast. I placed my cup under the sensor, and waited for the goodness to flow out. I waited, and waited some more. Nothing. “This can’t be,” I said to myself, “what is going on,” I asked? “Is it, or is it?” No it can’t be… DAMN YOU SANCHEZ!!!!

Little did I realize that this son of a gerbil left the room knowing he had taken the last drop of coffee goodness from me. He must have did it on purpose, knowing I would be the next one to revive oneself from the Mr. Coffee shrine of the Gods. I uttered a slight whimper, I turned to look and see if my now sworn enemy was there laughing at me, but alas the coward had fled in terror.

My whimper now turned into a shed of tears. “How can I go on?” I asked. “ I have to go home, I can’t make thru out the day!” But a bright shiny light appeared from behind me, a choir was singing in a harmonious conjecture of ear pleasure. And there I saw it. A cup, a beautiful cup of fresh coffee. Holding it was my good friend, my new favorite person… uh…. What’s her name again?




Leave a Reply.