Picture

Me and History. January 20, 2009

 I am not the man I expected myself to be when I was a kid.  Much like any other 10 year old boy I had considerably high expectations to become a man with many different talents, even giving old DaVinci a run for his money. If had I lived up to those expectations to this point of my life, I would have cured cancer, walked on the moon, won an Olympic gold medal, been voted President of the United States, and of course mastering the art of flying  like superman. Several birthday cakes later, I came to realize that the world I live in today is more complex than what it appeared to be in my earlier days. A life complexity that needs more understanding, and to find that understanding I have tried to value and discover on my own. Some times that understanding is more complex than the actual lesson you are trying to learn, but I use my experience, as small as it may be, to teach myself many things that I come across in life. Yes much like Leonardo before me, I would consider myself an independent “self learner.” I am sure good old Leo would have used a far more eloquent title, but formalities aside, I love teaching myself new things. If its years of practicing my guitar playing, or teaching myself how to drive a “stick shift” car, a big accomplishment in my world by the way.

 It is not that I refuse or distrust others to teach me things; I welcome new teachings with open arms and eyes. It is that I prefer to develop different opinions and views in different areas, without any outside influences. I have a great sense of satisfaction when I figure something out by myself. It is a sense of pride, not only for me, but pride in knowing that my mom is proud of what I have done. If it was not for her, I would most likely not care so much to learn. Compared to my childhood expectations that I had for myself, if I had lived up to my mother’s by now there should be statues of me outside every building and complete peace on earth. For in her eyes, my birth was the greatest anybody had seen in nearly 2,000 years, or so I would like to think. My siblings will tell me otherwise. 

 And as I sit here today, in my living room watching history unfold with the inauguration of President Barack Obama. And I too stand here humbled along with the President, by the task that stands before this historic administration. Political views and skepticism aside, I feel hope in America. You could see it in the eyes in all those that witnessed this event. And I too see it in the eyes of our new President. And I wish him the best of luck.

And seeing his hope, gives me hope. Knowing that I can live up to my own expectations as well as my mothers. All I do and say is important to some extent. And what I do for my future is of some significance. It is because the culmination of all human intelligence and wisdom is contingent to these words: Wait and Hope.




Leave a Reply.