Picture

Money DOES Buy Happiness! March 30, 2009

I think it is time that I debunk another one of life’s proclamations of deception. Contrary to popular belief, money does buy happiness. Plain and simple folks. Have you ever been handed money and not been happy about it? Are you sad on payday? I think not. A follow up from a couple of post back, I have been having some good fortune this year, and all of it is thanks to money. I didn’t win the lottery or find an untapped oil well, I just find that my bank account has more digits in it then it would normally have. And I am elated about that.

Granted the long held proverb, “money does not buy happiness,” has its own profound meaning that I‘m sure I’m missing. But I find it to be false on the basis of my personal pessimism about old sayings. Just think about for a second, before all of you start to think that I am some sort of gluttonous, self absorbed fool.

If you get some money, and normally you don’t find yourself with a sufficient amount of money to say that you “have money”, you become confidant right? Confidant in knowing you don’t have to sell your favorite guitar to pay the gas bill. Confidence raises your self esteem. You walk around knowing that if you have to buy something on a whim, you can. A higher self esteem makes you happy! The circle is complete. Money buys happiness! But maybe that is what is wrong with this old saying. Maybe it should be changed from, “money buys happiness,” to “money brings about happiness.” Not as catchy, yes I know but if it works it works.




Leave a Reply.