Picture

Music January 13, 2009

 

            So, I am willing to bet that as you are reading this you are listening to some kind of music. Am I right? I know I have some tunes blasting! Obviously music is everywhere we go. The mall, the movies, at home, the car, the elevator, and even the bathrooms. Which is kind of nice, but ill stay away from that lovely topic. So let me set the record straight, if you don’t know me, and if you do and don’t know this then shame on you! I LOVE MUSIC. Nothing much else I can add to that.

            It is one of the fundamental elements that all humans are born to enjoy. Since the time of the primordial ooze from which we all staggered out of, we humans have been banging stick to stone, in the hope that some comprehensible beat will come out from it. We hear music in the ocean as it hits the shore. In the wind as it passes thru branches of trees, in whose shade you steal for a quick lunch break.

            Granted, music is not entirely whimsical and soft like a pillow as I might have let it seem. But no matter the genre you prefer to listen to, whether it be fast paced rock metal or smooth slow jazz, you have unwilling succumbed to the beautiful universal language, that of  which is music. And I say universal language because no matter where you go in the world and how many different cultures and religions you encounter, music in some fashion is there. I think of the monks who sing their prayers on an almost constant basis. Or even the average American who sings to their God every Sunday.

Music has survived the gauntlet which is time, it is not a phase, or the hip thing kids are doing. It is living history. It is music that binds us, the music that makes the confusions of life become clear. It heals us when we are ill. It is our escapes from our reality. No matter the artist or the message that they want to send, people listen. They want to be taken to another world, and music provides the transportation. When someone asks me if I would rather be blind or deaf, I choose blind. For the main reason that, although I will miss all the beautiful sights and colors this world has to offer, I will miss the sounds it shares with us all, music.

We understand all of those songs we hear about love, we feel the pain, the joy they make us feel. We scream at the songs we hate and our reflexes never react faster to raise the volume to the songs we love. Yes my dear friend that is the good stuff. It is the memory that a song brings of that first dance. The song you love to sing along to in the car. It is the memory that takes us all back to our childhood. It is that song that you just have to listen to while sitting on the porch having a beer with good friends. Those are the good times I live for, that I am desperate to have.

This is music to me. Music is my escape. My taxi to my happy place. Wherever I go I have it with me. I use it to focus, to relax and to have fun. Is there any other force in our world that can have the same impact? I go to concerts and sing and dance to have fun and to get lost in the songs. For it is the music that frees us from the bonds that is reality, it gives us the pedestal to sing or play our way to other worlds.

We unfortunately live in a society that needs to live in a fast paced environment, which brings stress and anger into our heads. It is music we turn to. We need it to sing to, to dance, to have fun and forget our problems. We need it as our soundtrack when we cry. We need it to add that certain spice to our parties. If not for a short few minutes that a song last, it is the true pleasure and joy that those few moments gives that makes us whole…I listen to music; therefore I am.




Leave a Reply.