My Office Space Day, February 18, 2009

                I had one of those days today. You know those days at work when you want nothing more than to just break everything around you and cause utter destruction to every living thing? Yep. That was my day… how was yours? So it started off rather badly, I had one of my good dream nights, and I was rudely woke up by my alarm clock just as I was coming out of the beach and about to grab my mojito( yeah I have mojitos, what of it?).

                So I woke up, shuffled off to the shower, did my thing, got dressed, packed my things and hit the road. Of course as all things natural, I got traffic, worse than any other day. Was a bit late, but at that point it didn’t matter, because I was ready to leave. I had an abnormally large amount of work to do; I even had to take some home, just finished, and its 10:45 at night.

                So I wondered, as I sat in the traffic coming back from work, why do we do it? Why do we commit ourselves to lives to such a mundane existence? It is not that I don’t like my job, there are days that I break a smile and even manage to leave happy, I just wonder why us humans, or at least us Americans need to work the way we do.

                I swear, I was supposed to be born in another country, one that ends its day at 12pm and a mandatory nap must be taken by all citizens...mmmm nap… sleep. Good stuff. I feel sad for us Americans that drudge through this “live to work” mentality, compared to a country, such as Greece, that “live to live,” and work only cause you have to pay a bill every now and then. Does that make sense? I wish I had that lassie fare attitude towards work. It is easy to wish and think about living a care free live, but the practicality of it, is all too hard to come by in this country.

                I envy the world.





Leave a Reply.